User Management

Updated 4 months ago by Cory M.

Within ShipStream there are two types of users: Users and Client Users. The Client Users access to data and features is limited to the data of a single Merchant and the functionality that a client of a 3PL would require as opposed to the employees of a 3PL.

Practicing the Principle of Least Privilege is recommended and to help you do this, you can create any number of Roles for your Users and Client Users.

Adding Users

  1. Navigate to System > Users.
  2. Click on Add New User at the top right of the page.
  3. Once you’ve filled out the required fields you may also choose how to grant the new user a password. The options available are to send them a reset password link, or specify a password for them in two additional hidden fields.
  4. The "Login via Badge" feature allows for a user to scan a badge code to login without a password.
  5. Click the User Role tab in the left sidebar and choose a Role for the user. If you don’t have the desired Role setup yet, you will need to do that by navigating to System > Users then clicking Client Users and then Client User Roles.
  6. Click Save User.

Adding Client Users

  1. Navigate to System > Users then click Client Users at the top right of the page.
  2. Click on Add New Client User at the top right of the page.
  3. Once you’ve filled out the required fields you may also choose how to grant the new user a password. The options available are to send them a reset password link, or specify a password for them in two additional hidden fields.
  4. Click the User Role tab in the left sidebar and choose a Role for the user. If you don’t have the desired Role setup yet, you will need to do that by navigating to System > Users then clicking Client Users and then Client User Roles.
  5. Click Save User.

Editing Users / Client Users

Administrators and Client Administrators with the System > Permissions > Users permission may edit User or Client Users, respectively.

If a user needs a password reset, the most secure way to accomplish this is to send a password reset link to their email address. This can be done with one click by clicking Send Reset Link on the “Edit User” page. An email with instructions will be immediately sent to the user's email address.

User Mass-Actions

The Users grid allows for mass-actions to be applied to any number of selected users using the checkbox on the left side of each row in the grid view. With one or more users checked, you can use the “Actions” drop-down menu and choose to:

  • Delete PIN Codes - Reset the PIN of the selected users
  • Reset Badge Codes - Generate new badge codes for the selected users
  • Login via Badge - Set whether users are allowed to login with a Badge Code
  • Export Badge Codes - Export Badge Codes to a CSV file
    • This action requires the Export Badge Codes permission


How did we do?